Orange Cream Smoothie

I have been trying to eat as healthy as I possibly can since my in-laws last visited in February. Since the day they flew back to the UK I have been eating a mostly vegetarian diet (sometimes even vegan). The only time I have had meat is when going out to eat and most of the time I have been able to manage something vegetarian even then.

One of my favorite ways to get more vegetables into my diet has been smoothies. I have tried many different combinations. I have used both vanilla soy milk and vanilla almond milk and have found the almond the most enjoyable. The most important thing I have learned though is to no add in too much leafy greens compared to your liquids or else you get sludge (tastes good still but texture is horrid). So here is one of my favorite smoothie recipes.

Orange Cream Smoothie

1 cup vanilla almond milk
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup 100% carrot juice (I use Boathouse Farms)
5 oz frozen mango chunks
1 cup baby spinach

Add all your ingredients and blend until nice and smooth.

If you need to get a bit more protein then you can add in some vegan protein powder and it is still fab.

Obviously, if you are using cow milk or unsweetened/flavored alternatives you can add a bit of vanilla to keep the lovely cream flavor. I have also added cinnamon in the past which was very nice. Another alternative that tastes great is substituting in 1/2 avocado in place of the spinach. This is the great thing about a smoothie is that you can mix and match fruits and veggies to your hearts desire.

Enjoy a smoothie for breakfast or maybe a hearty snack in the day. It will boost your fruit and veg intake, improve your health, give you a portable meal and tastes great too. What more can you ask?

P.S. Sorry there is no picture but I drank it before I thought to share the recipe….YUM!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

