Caramel shortbread

20121011-113929.jpg

Yesterday, I made caramel shortbread because my daughters want to learn about making caramel. I had never attempted caramel myself so I figured the only solution was to have a go at it on my own first. The above picture is of what remained this morning. Wow are these rich and yummy! I tried to have two yesterday but these things are too rich for even me to have more than one without a very poorly tum ensuing.

Now for the recipe!

For the short bread layer:
1/2 cup butter (real thing guys)
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup flour
1/4 cup almond flour

Beat these items until a dough ball then press into a 9″x 13″ baking pan that is lined in parchment. The parchment must cover bottom and sides or you will have a witch of a time getting the bars out. Bake at 350F (175C) for 20-25 minutes. Let cool in the pan a few minutes while making the caramel.

Next step is the caramel.

Add to a med sauce pan:
3/4 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons dark corn syrup
14oz sweetened condensed milk

Melt these items together and bring to a boil. Boil (I did this on a gentle boil) for about 5-7 minutes (I did 7 minutes).
Pour the thickened caramel onto the shortbread which is still in the pan. Allow to cool for about 40 minutes. Now onto the third layer.

CHOCOLATE:

In the saucepan melt:
8 oz of chocolate (either chips or 8 chocolate baking squares)
2 tablespoons coconut oil.

Gently on low heat melt the chocolate until smooth and pour over the caramel. Put in the freezer and allow the chocolate to set.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Caramel shortbread

  1. Ok, this looks AMAZING. Now I’m all excited for Christmas baking…

Leave a Reply

