Bestest Baked Beans Ever

I have just finished making the bestest baked beans ever. I got the original recipe from allrecipes.com but have adjusted slightly. These beans are sweet but not SWEET. They are rich and tomatoey. They are just plain soul soothing good. If I could get my annoying to app to allow me to upload a picture I would share how thick and yum they look as well. We will be having ours with cornbread tomorrow night as they are even better a day later. So here goes the recipe I used.

Bestest Baked Beans Ever

2 cups of great northern beans (soak 12hours and then boil about one hour before combining and reserve the drained bean water for later use)

About a pound of bacon (could use salt pork but bacon was to hand, the original called for less but everything is better with bacon)

1 large onion (finely diced)

4 oz of molasses

1 tsp of salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp dry mustard (I might have used as much as 3/4 tsp)

1 cup ketchup (I used Heinz)

2 tsp worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup brown sugar

After you have soaked and boiled your beans, layer them in a large oven safe pan (with a cover) in the order of beans, bacon, onion and then repeat once.

In a saucepan mix the remaining ingredients and heat until well mixed together. Pour mixture over the beans and add just enough of the bean water to almost cover the beans.

Bake at 325 F or about 160 C for 3-4 hours.

I used a large cast iron pan I got from Le Creuset and find it a great size for this. The original recipe mentioned using a casserole pan I think but make sure it has a lid. Also, about a hour before the beans were done I took the lid off so that the sauce could thicken.

These beans are leaps and bounds better then those you will find in a can. They are not really that much work and I have read could be done in a slow cooker (though I have not tried it so can’t tell you how). Personally, I find these the perfect autumn/winter comfort food.

Hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

