Lemon cake

My daughter Emily had a birthday recently and for her cake she wanted her favorite flavor of lemon. Now even if I was inclined to pay $25+ for a store bought birthday cake the odds are that I wouldn’t find a lemon cake with lemon frosting anyway so we made our own. Being as Emily just turned eleven and loves baking I let her make the cake while I supervised and read out the recipe. I even snuck in a bit of math for her as she had to double the recipe and convert from ounces to cups. I am going to give the measurements in US and metric measurements as I have friends in both countries reading this. Also need to say that I got the basic recipe from Good Housekeeping and have just made vague changes so this is not purely my own recipe.

Lemon Cake

1.5 cups/350g butter, softened (use real if you can but margarine can be used in a pinch)
1.5 cups/350g granulated sugar (splenda could be used instead if you prefer)
6 eggs
1.5 cups/350g white flour (cake flour could be used instead, I have used both)
1-2tsp/5-10g baking powder
1-2 tsp/5-10ml lemon extract

Self-raising flour was in the original recipe instead of flour and baking powder separately but as I don’t normally have that in the house I use the white flour and add baking powder to it.

Step one is to whisk together the softened butter with the sugar. Do not soften the butter in the microwave or melt it, just get it to a bit cooler then room temperature.

20110811-111534.jpg

Now add the eggs and lemon extract and mix.

20110811-111928.jpg

In a separate bowl mix the flour and baking powder if not using self-raising flour. Add this a bit at a time to the wet ingredients and mix in well.
Pour into two round can pans about half to three quarters full.

20110811-112212.jpg

Put the pans in an oven that was preheated to 350F or about 190C. This may be about gas mark 5 according to my UK Good Housekeeping book. I was never good with the temperature conversions for baking so have gone with the cookbook experts on this. Use a toothpick to check that the cakes are done, this is when the toothpick comes out clean and after around about 20 minutes.

20110811-112623.jpg

For the frosting we blended confectioners sugar (icing sugar) with butter, added a teaspoon of lemon extract and a touch of milk. I don’t currently have measurements for this as I have always gone by taste not to mention that I forgot to buy the sugar and was nearly out.

Like to apologize for accidentally posting the unfinished post. My learning curve with this stuff might not be up to the level of most.

This entry was posted in homemaking, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon cake

  1. Looks lovely! I’m very much into lemon cake at the moment.

    • It is quite nice though I will warn that it is best eaten fresh. We kept ours overnight in the fridge because we didn’t have time to make it on her birthday….it was a bit dry. When we have eaten these cakes fresh they have been very moist.

Leave a Reply

